From the Chapel of St. Agnes
At the present church

On the way from the island of the city to the hill of Montmartre, close to the enclosure of Philippe Auguste, a modest chapel was built in 1213; It became a parish church, consecrated to Saint-Eustache, welcoming relics of this Roman martyr, given by the Abbey of Saint-Denis.

Over the years, the population continues to grow; We need to expand the church. The first stone of the present church is laid on August 19, 1532, under Francis 1, without knowing the name of the first architect. Even if the construction lasted more than a century, the visitor who enters Saint-Eustache for the first time, does not fail to be struck by his unit. On April 26, 1637, the church was finally consecrated by Jean-François de Gondi, Archbishop of Paris.

In 1655, Colbert, parishioner and first churchwarden of Saint-Eustache, arranged two chapels under the towers of the façade, which severely undermined its strength. The façade and the first span of the nave and aisles must be demolished. On May 22, 1754, the Duke of Chartres – Future Philippe-equality – lays the first stone of the current portal. The plans had been prepared by Jean-Hardouin Mansart de Jouy; The construction, continued by Pierre-Louis Moreau, remained unfinished... until today!

The Adventures of the church are not over; In 1793, it was closed to the Catholic cult to become a temple of agriculture. Reopened in 1795, it is partially conceded to théophilanthropes: serious damage is caused to the church and its furniture.

by Flappiefh [CC by-SA 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], from Wikimedia Commons

The nineteenth century is going to be, for Saint-Eustache As for many other Parisian monuments, the era of reparations and restorations. From 1846 to 1854, a complete restoration of the building is led by Victor Baltard (who draws the organ buffet, the pulpit, the master altar, and supervises the rehabilitation of all the paintings). The latter makes Ausi build the pavilions for the market of the halls, which will be demolished in the years 1970.

After the events of 1870-1871, repairs were done to the attic, foothills and south facade; From 1928 to 1929, the façade was reviewed and consolidated. The departure from the Halles market to Rungis, in the southern suburbs of Paris, greatly modifies the area, with the creation of a regional transport hub, a large shopping centre and cultural activities. The destruction of the Baltard pavilions reveals the church as one of the main elements of the neighbourhood.

In the years 1990, after many difficulties, the organ was restored by a Dutch house – Van den Heuvel – Saint-Eustache now has one of the most important instruments in France. For several years, the city of Paris, owner of the building, has been carrying out very important works of renovation outside and inside.

Saint-Eustache: a bit of history

Historical route

Famous characters

It is difficult to draw up a complete list of the illustrious characters whose memory is associated with Saint-Eustache. From the seventeenth century until the revolution, this church was the title of "Royal Parish"; It is frequented both by the humble people of the halls – merchants and artisans – and by the nobility that lodges in its territory and has chapels in the church.

Richelieu is baptized in Saint-Eustache, as well as Molière. The fountain is buried in Saint-Eustache. In 1649, the young Louis XIV made his first communion. It was also here that Father Senault, from the oratory, pronounced the funeral eulogy of Anne of Austria in 1666; And ten years later, flexing that of Turenne; Massillon preached on several occasions, notably in 1704, where he gave his famous sermon on "The small number of the elect". On December 30, 1721 is baptized a child named Jeanne Poisson, who will be known as Madame de Pompadour. On July 4, 1778, Mozart came to mourn at Saint-Eustache, at the funeral of his mother; A few years later, Mirabeau's body was deposited there in great pomp; On April 30, 1855, Berlioz directed in Saint-Eustache the execution of his "Te Deum" and on March 15, 1866, Liszt attended the first hearing of his solemn mass, called "Gran".

Share
Tweet
Share
+1
Save

Histoire de l'église

De la chapelle Sainte-Agnès à l'église actuelle

Sur le chemin qui mène de l'Île de la Cité à la colline de Montmartre, à proximité de l'enceinte de Philippe Auguste, une modeste chapelle est bâtie en 1213 ; elle devient église paroissiale, consacrée à Saint-Eustache, en accueillant des reliques de ce martyr romain, données par l'abbaye Saint-Denis.

Avec les années, la population ne cesse de s'accroître ; il faut agrandir l'église. La première pierre de l'église actuelle est posée le 19 août 1532, sous François 1er, sans que l'on ne connaisse le nom du premier architecte. Même si la construction a duré plus d'un siècle, le visiteur qui entre à Saint-Eustache pour la première fois, ne manque pas d'être frappé par son unité. Le 26 avril 1637, l'église est enfin consacrée par Jean-François de Gondi, archevêque de Paris.

En 1655, Colbert, paroissien et premier marguillier de Saint-Eustache, fait aménager deux chapelles sous les tours de la façade, ce qui en compromet gravement la solidité. On doit démolir la façade ainsi que la première travée de la nef et des bas-côtés. Le 22 mai 1754, le duc de Chartres - futur Philippe-Egalité - pose la première pierre du portail actuel. Les plans avaient été dressés par Jean-Hardouin Mansart de Jouy ; la construction, continuée par Pierre-Louis Moreau, est restée inachevée... jusqu'à aujourd'hui !

Les aventures de l'église en sont pas finies ; en 1793, elle est fermée au culte catholique pour devenir temple de l'Agriculture. Rouverte en 1795, elle est concédée partiellement aux théophilanthropes : de graves dommages sont causés à l'église et à son mobilier.

Le dix-neuvième siècle va être, pour Saint-Eustache comme pour beaucoup d'autres monuments parisiens, l'ère des réparations et des restaurations. de 1846 à 1854, une restauration complète de l'édifice est dirigée par Victor Baltard (qui dessine le buffet d'orgue, la chaire, le maître autel, et qui supervise la réfection de toutes les peintures). Ce dernier fait ausi construire les pavillons pour le marché des Halles, qui seront démolies dans les années 1970.

Après les évènements de 1870-1871, on procède à des réparations aux combles, aux contreforts et à la façade sud ; de 1928 à 1929, la façade a été revue et consolidée. Le départ du marché des Halles vers Rungis, dans la banlieue sud de Paris, modifie considérablement le quartier, avec la création d'un pôle régional de transport, d'un grand centre commercial et d'activités culturelles. La destruction des pavillons Baltard fait apparaître l'église comme l'un des éléments principaux du quartier.

Dans les années 1990, après beaucoup de difficultés, l'orgue est restauré par une maison hollandaise - Van den Heuvel - Saint-Eustache dispose maintenant d'un des instruments les plus importants de France. Depuis plusieurs années, la Ville de Paris, propriétaire du bâtiment, mène de très importants travaux de rénovation extérieure et intérieure.

Des personnages célèbres

Il est difficile de dresser la liste complète des personnages illustres dont le souvenir se rattache à Saint-Eustache. A partir du dix-septième siècle, et jusqu'à la Révolution, cette église a le titre de "paroisse royale" ; elle est fréquentée à la fois par l'humble peuple des Halles - marchands et artisans - et par la noblesse qui loge sur son territoire et possède des chapelles dans l'église.

Richelieu est baptisé à Saint-Eustache, ainsi que Molière. La Fontaine est enterré à Saint-Eustache. En 1649, le jeune Louis XIV fait sa première communion. C'est là aussi que le Père Senault, de l'Oratoire, prononce l'oraison funèbre d'Anne d'Autriche en 1666 ; et dix ans plus tard, Fléchier celle de Turenne ; Massillon prêche à plusieurs reprises, notamment en 1704 où il donna son fameux sermon sur "le petit nombre des élus". Le 30 décembre 1721 est baptisée une enfant nommée Jeanne Poisson, qui sera connue sous le nom de Mme de Pompadour. Le 4 juillet 1778, Mozart vient pleurer à Saint-Eustache, aux funérailles de sa mère ; quelques années après, le corps de Mirabeau y est déposé en grande pompe; Le 30 avril 1855, Berlioz dirige à Saint-Eustache l'éxécution de son "Te Deum" et le 15 mars 1866, Liszt assiste à la première audition de sa messe solennelle, dite de "Gran".

 

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zCXTeqJzjE]  Saint-Eustache: un peu d'histoire.


[pages 7879654/33316382]

Vous pouvez télécharger le Parcours historique

"Saint-Eustache au cœur du quartier des Halles à Paris" en cliquant ici.

Haut de page

Adresse
Paroisse Saint-Eustache
2 impasse Saint-Eustache
75001 Paris - 01 42 36 31 05

Horaires d'ouverture
9h30-19h en semaine
9h-19h le week-end