Luc Forestier (20.06.2018)

Luc Forestier (20.06.2018)

For these essential verses of prophetic transmission, several interpretations coexist without contradiction. Historical elements are necessary not only to measure the narrative framework that is made, but also to try to understand the issues of the editors and readers that we are. Now, an old text, tirelessly transmitted and meditated until today by the people of Israel, is proclaimed at the heart of the Christian gathering, in order to be assimilated by those who share the word made flesh in Jesus Christ.

Many elements nevertheless come to the common sense and force them to go beyond this historical interpretation, to enter into the very gesture that is proposed. The biblical text is never separable from the relationship that justifies its existence. We do not believe in God because we read the Bible. We receive the Bible as the word of God because we participate in the assembly constituted by the Lord's Supper.

So there is a abyme, as on the boxes of certain melted cheese, made from happy cows, endowed with earrings!

The gesture of transmission of Elijah to Elisha, this mantle that descends from above and serves only to open the waters of the Jordan, does not designate only a historical event, otherwise inaccessible. It is not only a literary content that joins the joy of Reading and communion, at a distance, between authors and readers. The gesture deploys exactly what the liturgy implements, that is, the transmission of a word that takes the form of a garment to cover the nudity of our existences, which also takes the form of a tool to open what seems closed. It is only within the liturgical life of Israel and the church that we experience what the narrative proposes.

Yet, in order to receive the mantle and the instrument of the word, there is a decisive condition which discreetly indicates the repetition of Elisha's gesture which, on two occasions, strikes the waters. A burning question must dwell on us, "Where is your God?" To remain only to the outward gesture will not produce anything without this inner fire which is the work of the spirit.

Luke Forester, priest of the Oratory in Paris

0 Partages


0 Partages
Tweet
Save
Share

Luc Forestier (20.06.2018)

Pour ces versets essentiels de la transmission prophétique, plusieurs interprétations cohabitent sans se contredire. Des éléments historiques sont nécessaires, non seulement pour mesurer le cadre narratif qui est constitué, mais aussi pour tenter de comprendre les enjeux des rédacteurs et des lecteurs que nous sommes. Voilà qu’un vieux texte, inlassablement transmis et médité jusqu’à aujourd’hui par le peuple d’Israël, est proclamé au cœur du rassemblement chrétien, afin d’être assimilé par celles et ceux qui communient par là au Verbe fait chair en Jésus-Christ.

Bien des éléments viennent pourtant heurter le sens commun et obligent à dépasser cette interprétation historique, pour entrer dans le geste même qui est proposé. Le texte biblique n’est jamais séparable de la relation qui justifie son existence. Nous ne croyons pas en Dieu parce que nous lisons la Bible. Nous recevons la Bible comme Parole de Dieu parce que nous participons à l’assemblée constituée par le Repas du Seigneur.

Il y a donc une mise en abyme, comme sur les boîtes de certain fromage fondu, fabriqué à partir de vaches heureuses, dotées de boucles d’oreille !

Le geste de transmission d’Elie à Elisée, ce manteau qui descend d’en haut et ne sert qu’à ouvrir les eaux du Jourdain, ne désigne pas uniquement un événement historique, d’ailleurs inaccessible. Il ne s’agit pas non plus d’un contenu uniquement littéraire qui rejoint la joie de la lecture et de la communion, à distance, entre auteur et lecteurs. Le geste déploie exactement ce que la liturgie met en œuvre, c’est-à-dire la transmission d’une parole qui prend la forme d’un vêtement pour couvrir la nudité de nos existences, qui prend aussi la forme d’un outil pour ouvrir ce qui semble fermé. C’est uniquement à l’intérieur de la vie liturgique d’Israël et de l’Église que l’on expérimente ce que le récit propose.

Pourtant, pour recevoir le manteau et l’instrument de la Parole, il y a une condition décisive qu’indique discrètement la répétition du geste d’Elisée qui, à deux reprises, frappe les eaux. Une question brûlante doit nous habiter, « où est-il ton Dieu ? » N’en rester qu’au geste extérieur ne produira rien sans ce feu intérieur qui est l’œuvre de l’Esprit.

Luc Forestier, prêtre de l’Oratoire à Paris