History of the Church

On the way from the island of the city to the hill of Montmartre, close to the enclosure of Philippe Auguste, a modest chapel was built in 1213; It became a parish church, consecrated to Saint-Eustache, welcoming relics of this Roman martyr, given by the Abbey of Saint-Denis.

Over the years, the population continues to grow; We need to expand the church. The first stone of the present church is laid on August 19, 1532, under Francis 1, without knowing the name of the first architect. Even if the construction lasted more than a century, the visitor who enters Saint-Eustache for the first time, does not fail to be struck by his unit. On April 26, 1637, the church was finally consecrated by Jean-François de Gondi, Archbishop of Paris.

In 1655, Colbert, parishioner and first churchwarden of Saint-Eustache, arranged two chapels under the towers of the façade, which severely undermined its strength. The façade and the first span of the nave and aisles must be demolished. On May 22, 1754, the Duke of Chartres – Future Philippe-equality – lays the first stone of the current portal. The plans had been prepared by Jean-Hardouin Mansart de Jouy; The construction, continued by Pierre-Louis Moreau, remained unfinished... until today!

More infos

Contemporary works

Tryptique “La vie du Christ” de Keith Haring

One of the elements that makes the richness and diversity of the parish. These are the works of famous artists who have populated his edifice over the centuries, whether they are from Vouet, Rubens, Pigalle, Baltard, or more recently from Raymond Mason, Keith Haring or John Armleder.

Discover the Works

Artistic heritage

With its plan and structure, Saint-Eustache is the daughter of Notre-Dame de Paris: nave flanked by double aisles and chapels, wide non-protruding transept outside, choir surrounded by a double ambulatory and a row of chapels.

The architecture of Saint-Eustache was the object of the most contradictory judgments: some reveal a passionate admiration, the others the most extreme severity.

More infos

A parish entrusted
At the Oratory of France

In 1922, the Archbishop of Paris entrusted the parish of Saint-Eustache to the priests of the oratory. This small society of priests has a dual historical origin; In Rome in the 16th century with Saint Philippe Neri and in France, in the 17th century, with Cardinal Pierre de Bérulle. The Oratory currently has about forty priests devoted to an apostolic activity in the context of a community life.

Gathered around a spirituality centered on the incarnation of Christ, the Oratorians are first priests in the service of the church.

Present in the heart of the cities, they strive to be attentive to people who sometimes live in difficult and different urban situations. They are responsible for 3 churches: Saint-Eustache in Paris, Saint-Bonaventure sanctuaries in Lyon and Saint-Ferréol in Marseille.

Traditionally concerned with issues related to education and transmission, they are now present in the animation of several schools.

Restoration Chapel of the Saints Angels

Last restoration by the city of Paris on the occasion of the exhibition "The Colours of the sky" in 2013.

Discover the Restoration

The Saint-Eustache factory

«Doing nothing would freeze the walk of time and leave to our successors an even heavier task.
Since the launch of the construction of Saint-Eustache in 1532, the church has adapted to its time, to the mutations of the world, of the city, of society. Today, the Halles district, in the heart of Paris, is experiencing new developments. Saint-Eustache, nourished by history, must accompany these evolutions, to continue the work of our ancestors... »

George Nicholson, from the Oratory, Former parish priest of Saint-Eustache

More infos
3 Partages
Tweet
Save
Share3

Histoire de l’église

Sur le chemin qui mène de l’Île de la Cité à la colline de Montmartre, à proximité de l’enceinte de Philippe Auguste, une modeste chapelle est bâtie en 1213 ; elle devient église paroissiale, consacrée à Saint-Eustache, en accueillant des reliques de ce martyr romain, données par l’abbaye Saint-Denis.

Avec les années, la population ne cesse de s’accroître ; il faut agrandir l’église. La première pierre de l’église actuelle est posée le 19 août 1532, sous François 1er, sans que l’on ne connaisse le nom du premier architecte. Même si la construction a duré plus d’un siècle, le visiteur qui entre à Saint-Eustache pour la première fois, ne manque pas d’être frappé par son unité. Le 26 avril 1637, l’église est enfin consacrée par Jean-François de Gondi, archevêque de Paris.

En 1655, Colbert, paroissien et premier marguillier de Saint-Eustache, fait aménager deux chapelles sous les tours de la façade, ce qui en compromet gravement la solidité. On doit démolir la façade ainsi que la première travée de la nef et des bas-côtés. Le 22 mai 1754, le duc de Chartres – futur Philippe-Egalité – pose la première pierre du portail actuel. Les plans avaient été dressés par Jean-Hardouin Mansart de Jouy ; la construction, continuée par Pierre-Louis Moreau, est restée inachevée… jusqu’à aujourd’hui !

En savoir plus

Œuvres contemporaines

Tryptique « La vie du Christ » de Keith Haring

Un des éléments qui fait la richesse et la diversité de la paroisse. En témoignent les oeuvres d’artistes célèbres qui ont peuplé son édifice au cours des siècles, qu’elles soient de Vouet, Rubens, Pigalle, Baltard, ou plus récemment de Raymond Mason, Keith Haring ou John Armleder.

Découvrir les Œuvres

Patrimoine artistique

Par son plan et sa structure, Saint-Eustache est la fille de Notre-Dame de Paris : nef flanquée de bas-côtés doubles et de chapelles, large transept non saillant à l’extérieur, choeur entouré par un double déambulatoire et une rangée de chapelles.

L’architecture de Saint-Eustache a été l’objet des jugements les plus contradictoires : les uns révèlent une admiration passionnée, les autres la plus extrême sévérité.

En savoir plus

Une paroisse confiée
à l’Oratoire de France

En 1922, l’Archevêque de Paris a confié la paroisse Saint-Eustache aux prêtres de l’Oratoire. Cette petite société de prêtres a une double origine historique ; à Rome au 16ème siècle avec saint Philippe Neri et en France, au 17ème siècle, avec le cardinal Pierre de Bérulle. L’Oratoire compte actuellement une quarantaine de prêtres se consacrant à une activité apostolique dans le cadre d’une vie communautaire.

Rassemblés autour d’une spiritualité centrée sur l’incarnation du Christ, les oratoriens sont d’abord prêtres au service de l’église.

Présents au coeur des villes, ils s’efforcent d’être attentifs aux personnes qui vivent, parfois, des situations urbaines difficiles et différentes. Ils ont la charge de 3 églises : Saint-Eustache à Paris, les sanctuaires Saint-Bonaventure à Lyon et Saint-Ferréol à Marseille.

Traditionnellement soucieux des questions liées à l’éducation et à la transmission, ils sont aujourd’hui présents dans l’animation de plusieurs établissements scolaires.

Restauration Chapelle des Saints Anges

Dernière restauration par la Ville de Paris à l’occasion de l’exposition « les couleurs du ciel » en 2013.

Découvrir la restauration

La fabrique Saint-Eustache

«Ne rien faire serait figer la marche du temps et laisser à nos successeurs une tâche encore plus lourde.
Depuis le lancement de la construction de Saint-Eustache en 1532, l’église s’est adaptée à son temps, aux mutations du monde, de la cité, de la société. Aujourd’hui, le quartier des Halles, au cœur de Paris, connaît de nouveaux développements. Saint-Eustache, nourrie d’histoire, se doit d’accompagner ces évolutions, de poursuivre l’œuvre de nos ancêtres… »

George Nicholson, de l’Oratoire, ancien curé de Saint-Eustache

En savoir plus
Partagez
Tweetez
Partagez
+1
Enregistrer